Haiti: Two New Chairs Appointed in Senate and Lower House

Written by

Wednesday, 11 January 2012 13:14

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti (defend.ht) – Senator Simon Dieuseul Desras chairs the Senate and National Assembly while the member Levaillant Louis-Jeune takes control of Lower house. The two new presidents have been appointed after the installation Tuesday January 10 of new offices in both houses of parliament.

"My mission at the head of the Senate is working to find cohesion for a good cohabitation between the state powers," said the new president of the National Assembly. Senator Desras (Centre Department) also wanted the Senate to play a role in national reconciliation.

As part of parliamentary proceedings, Senator plans to work in the Senate to pass legislation and to submit, with the Lower house, some laws to the Executive.

Here is the composition of the two offices:

Senate: President Simon Dieuseul Desras, Vice-President: Andris Riche, First Secretary: Steven Benoit, second secretary : John Joel Joseph, Questor: Carlos Lebon.

Lower House: President: Levaillant Louis-Jeune, Vice-President: Ocinjac Benjamin, vice-president of sessions: Poly Faustin, First Secretary: Jude Charles Faustin, second secretary : Guerda Benjamin Alexander, Questor: Cholzer Chancy and vice Questor: Louis-Marie Bonhomme.